Skip to content

Kyle’s Six Month Review

February 1, 2009

kyle

This week we met with our therapist and coordinator to talk about Kyle’s progress. It was not all rosy news. Although he hit most of the objectives we had set, it is hard for us to feel satisfied with the level of progress we are seeing. He’s already a year behind in walking, and there are so many cognitive delays it’s hard to know where to begin. While we definitely celebrate and take joy in any and every accomplishment he makes, it is often offset by frustration at the slow pace and setbacks in progress. It is hard to know how much is a result of his innate character, and how much is dependent on our ability to teach and encourage. Am I doing enough for him?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2009 11:19 pm

    I don’t know you or your family at all. I hope you don’t think I am a crazy for leaving a comment, as I ran onto your blog by chance. I have a 14 month old son with downs, and I just wanted to give you some words of encouragement. Your son is beautiful, and things will happen when they happen. I know it gets frustrating when you are trying and trying to be the best parent you can, and your child shows little progress. I think our little people move at their own pace, whatever that may be, and all we can truly do is love and encourage them. Which I am sure you are doing a great job at. Good luck to you and your family. Nicole

  2. Lacy permalink
    November 23, 2009 7:19 pm

    Your son is absolutely beautiful. I am majoring in (and hopefully getting my doctorate in Speech Pathology) to work with children like Kyle and my step nephew who has Autism. They are gifts and I wish you and your family the best of luck. Just looking at his pictures made my heart warm. 🙂 I have 2 children of my on and all children are special. They are given to us for a reason and make us stronger! Thank you for having this page!

Leave a Reply

