Skip to content

Attack of the iPhone Killer Robots!

December 11, 2009

Positioning is a tricky thing. I mean, on the one hand, you kind of have to admire the balls shown by the creative team in charge of branding the Motorolla’s alleged iPhone killer, the Droid. They basically looked at the conceptual space owned by iPhone – most humanistic, engaging, downright gregarious smartphone on the planet – and in textbook fashion invented the most polarizing brand personality possible: a cold, inhuman robot.

Differentiating, check.

Appealing? Hells no! R2-D2 might register as a positive association, but they’re making the thing look more like some kind of Skynet device come to imprison humanity. I mean, I get that it’s not an iPhone. Confusion allayed. But you know what? I still prefer my gadgets warm and cuddly. Just look at that photo above. It reminds me of HAL from 2001.

In short, based on the campaign so far, I don’t give a rat’s ass what Droid does. That thing has obviously been sent from the future to destroy us.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. DroidBoy permalink
    January 31, 2011 11:08 pm

    I’m definitely a Droid fan boy. I want my smart phone to Destroy All Humans! and as far as I’m concerned Droid does. You cuddly Mac hipsters can go back to your aseptic, hermetically sealed, Kubric white, walled garden, while we Droid wielders will continue to rally the masses with open platforms for savvy free app love.

    • iPhoneBoi permalink
      January 31, 2011 11:27 pm

      Me thinks you Droid fan boys are drinking a little too much of the kool-aid. My iphone is awesome to use, super friendly, never buggy, AND NEVER BREAKS. Seriously, the idea of wading through the disorganized mess of half baked ideas that is the Android Marketplace gives me a serious case of Hemdroids.

Leave a Reply

